Audible.com release day: The Postmortal: A Novel by Drew Magary

As I mentioned on Tuesday’s release week post, The Postmortal: A Novel By Drew Magary was due to be available “any minute now”. Well, Narrated by Johnny Heller For Tantor Audio, that “any minute now” ended up being just one day later:

This is the debut novel for Magary, published by Penguin in the US earlier this year: “Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and – after much political and moral debate – made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems, including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors.”

Some reviews of the book:

  • “A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman.” (Library Journal)
  • “The Postmortal is both deep and heavy, offering a message steeped in the importance of our mortality. With quick and realistic dialogue, and an absolutely harrowing plot, Magary’s novel is a different sort of dystopia, one as tangible as it is plausible.” (J.P. Wickwire, Bull Spec)

Maybe not the cheeriest sounding holiday fare, but it’s a book I really hope to get to soon.

This entry was posted in regular. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.